<< previous story  |  next story: Upskilling the construction sector via senior-level recruitment – By Andrew Stevenson >>

Winners of the Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards 2016 – entries are now open for the 2017 awards

Where are the female leaders in our construction industry?

More women than ever are joining New Zealand’s booming construction industry, with the number of women in construction doubling to 17% over the last 15 years, but this increase hasn’t resulted in more women in leadership roles within the industry.

National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) president Donna Howell says that while it is fantastic to see increasing numbers of women choosing a career in construction, this isn’t reflected in the participation of women at a decision-making level in construction – and in fact in all industries across New Zealand. “Only 20.1% of New Zealand women hold senior leadership positions, while just 16.8% of listed companies have female directors,” she says.

Donna hopes that the third annual Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards – to be held on 18 August in Auckland – will generate plenty of discussion on this topic, while the introduction of a new ‘rising star’ category will provide recognition for future leaders within the construction industry.

“The awards celebrate the achievements of women in construction, as well as honouring those organisations which are redressing the industry’s gender imbalance,” Donna says. “We’re delighted with the growing number of entries we’re receiving each year, and are excited to introduce this new category which will celebrate up-and-coming leaders who will inspire others to seek out leadership roles within the construction industry.”

Inspiring women

Hays is sponsoring the awards for the third year in a row to recognise the significant contributions being made by women in New Zealand’s construction industry. Hays managing director Jason Walker says they are delighted to be sponsoring the awards and are looking forward to reviewing more fantastic entries from inspiring women who work in the fast-growing construction industry.

“As a long-time supporter of NAWIC, sponsoring the Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards is a perfect fit for us. We actively encourage and support the rising numbers of women joining New Zealand’s trades and construction industries, and are keen to keep recruiting as many as possible,” Jason says.

“The construction industry is rapidly changing and women are definitely making their mark. Women choosing a career in building, construction and the trades are seeing that they can progress up the ranks and operate their own businesses while enjoying high wages and excellent growth and training opportunities.”

Award categories

Entries/nominations for the awards are open until 5 June. Employers and managers are encouraged to submit nominations on behalf of their staff.
The awards have seven categories which cover a wide range of roles across the industry. The categories are:

  • • The Helen Tippett Award – for achievement in advancing the interests of women in the construction industry
  • • Tradeswoman of the Year – celebrates the contribution tradeswomen are making to the industry
  • • Professional Woman of the Year – focuses on women who have managed a construction project or those who operate their own business in the industry
  • • 
Rising Star – celebrates women who demonstrate future leadership potential within the industry; this category is open to women who have worked in the construction industry for less than seven years
  • • Outstanding Achievement in Design – celebrates the design aspect of a construction project in engineering, architecture or urban/landscape design
  • • 
Excellence in Construction Services – honours the contribution of women in administration, sales/marketing or operational roles within the industry
  • • Student/Apprentice Excellence Award – open to all women engaged in construction-related study or apprenticeships.

Visit the NAWIC website for nomination/entry forms and further information.

Entries now open for the 2017
Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards

Celebrate women in construction by entering the awards

Closing date: Monday 5 June 2017 at 9pm
• Send your entries to awards@nawic.org.nz


Go Back