<< previous story  |  next story: Cache of swamp kauri unearthed at Auckland construction site >>

Nominations are now open for the 2019 NAWIC Excellence Awards partnering with BCITO

Exciting times for NAWIC and all women in construction

The call has gone out for nominations for the 2019 NAWIC Excellence Awards partnering with BCITO, with entries closing on Friday 12 July.


On announcing the partnership with BCITO, National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) chair Jenny Parker says: “I am very excited that NAWIC is partnering with BCITO for this year’s awards. We have formed an excellent relationship with them already, and look forward to working even more with this organisation in the future.”

The NAWIC Excellence Awards aim to honour and encourage women already in the construction industry, as well as recognise organisations actively working to redress the gender imbalance in the sector. This is the fifth year that the New Zealand chapter of NAWIC has offered these awards.

Very few women are currently involved in the wider construction industry – Statistics NZ shows that the average percentage of women employed in construction in 2017 averaged just 13.3%. This ratio is slowly improving – an Auckland-based trades training organisation has “about 30 women students to 200 men” enrolled, or a 15% female-to-male ratio.

Award categories

The 2019 award categories are:

  • • The Helen Tippett Award – this is the supreme award which celebrates an organisation’s or individual’s achievement in advancing the interests of women in the construction industry
  • • Tradeswoman of the Year – celebrates the contribution tradeswomen make to the industry
  • • Professional Woman of the Year – honours women who have made a significant contribution to our sector
  • • Rising Star – celebrates women who demonstrate future leadership skills
  • • Excellence in Construction Services – honours the contribution of women in administration, sales/marketing and operational roles
  • • Outstanding Achievement in Design – recognises an individual’s contribution to the design aspect of construction projects
  • • Student/Apprentice – celebrates female students/apprentices who show lots of potential and commitment to the industry.

Award winners will be announced at a gala function on Friday 27 September in the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron’s ballroom in Auckland, with the guest of honour being Minister for Building and Construction Jenny Salesa.

NAWIC encourages every woman to nominate themselves or others around them for at least one award. “This is your time to shine – go for it!” says Jenny. “Let’s make these the best awards ever, by getting your entry in as soon as you can!”

Nomination forms can be downloaded from www.nawic.org.nz

Go Back